distracted-driving-laws-in-texas-wormington-and-bollinger

Distracted Driving Laws in Texas

Misha Personal Injury

Believe it or not, distracted driving has been compared to driving while intoxicated, sometimes it may be considered even more dangerous. About 25% of car accidents in Texas are caused by driver’s being distracted or not paying attention. Obviously, as one would be able to guess, drivers who are distracted are way more at risk for causing an accident than someone who is focusing properly on the road.

Your nearby personal injury law firm in McKinney will tell you that common distracted driving examples include the following:

  • Texting while driving
  • Talking on the phone while driving
  • Eating and drinking while driving
  • Pets roaming free in a vehicle and distracting the driver
  • Applying make-up while driving
  • Reading while driving

Predominantly, the most common distracted driving that takes place is when a driver is texting while driving or talking on the phone while driving, basically using their cell phone when they are operating a vehicle. Because the use of smartphones has become so high these days, and cell phone use while driving, it has been necessary for states to enforce laws to attempt and prevent said cell phone activity by a driver to try and keep people safer on the road.

There are several laws that are in place for regular cell phone use for drivers, and they can be defined as a primary law or a secondary law. Primary law occurs in the situation in which a police officer can pull a driver over for the offense; whereas secondary law occurs in which a police officer has already pulled over a driver for another offense and has also noticed the second law offense taking place as well. The police officer can then add a ticket for a secondary offense.

As of late last year, new laws were put in place that has made texting while driving illegal in Texas. Drivers are not allowed to read, write, or send electronic type messages while operating a vehicle. Drivers who break this law may be punished by a fine up to $99 for a first offense, and up to $200 for any offense prior.

Existing laws have banned those under the age of 18 from any cell phone use while driving, even hands-free cell phone use. The exception being emergencies. In school zones, no driver may engage in cell phone usage. School bus operators are banned from cell phone usage while driving if there are children present.

If you have found yourself in an accident involving a distracted driver, you will need a trustworthy and knowledgeable distracted driving attorney in McKinney to help you out. Here at Wormington & Bollinger, we will look at your specific and unique case for what it is and assign you the appropriate lawyer to give you the best possible outcome. Contact us today, and let us help you to get your life back on track.